The fickle Gemini

Today it’s time for a WIP update.

Remember my latest start that I introduced a while ago? I’ve been working exclusively on this piece in August on the few stitchy days I managed to squeeze in. Here is where I stopped after about 10 days of stitching.

The Butterfly Quote by Jodyri Designs in progress
Please excuse the shadows and creases

I’m sure many of you will recognize this now. But for those of you who don’t, this is a freebie design generously offered by Michelle of Jodyri Designs on her Facebook page. It will eventually read “Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly”. I loved the design the moment I saw it and knew I wanted to incorporate some variegated threads in it somehow. Long story short, variegated thread is near impossible to find in the UAE and so I had to re-think my strategy.

I am enjoying seeing the words unfold and do a mental jig of joy on completing every letter. This pattern is an absolute joy to work on. Simple, clear and perfect for improvisation. I have seen many versions of this stitched up, each beautiful in its own way.

The initial plan was to complete this piece in August but as is often the case I have had to extend that deadline. In fact I am now plotting a new start. I can hear the groans of ‘Not againnnnn!’. What can I say? I am fickle.

Untitled-1

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Let's start a diYalogue! :)

